loader
BIGUGLIA

BIGUGLIA : Former capital of Corsica

From this brilliant past, today we can find traces, pieces of the Roman road that linked Mariana to Nebbiu, the ruins of the first church of Saint Andrew, the foundations of the Castle, architectural elements integrated into more recent buildings, memories of a capital that has become a modern city.

In 1407 VINCENTELLO D'ISTRIA was appointed Count of the Island of Corsica. He made Biguglia his capital. At the time, Biguglia was considered a stronghold thanks to its port and the Chiurlino pond. The commune of Biguglia whose name evokes the rocky spur dominated the road which connected the plain to the Nebbiu ("aguglia" then "guglia" in lower Latin means needle, the point) played an eminent role in the history of Corsica in the Middle Ages. Main seat of the powerful BAGNAIA family, first settled near the ancient city of Mariana. Their stronghold extends from the Golo valley to the Cap Corse, it constitutes with its castrum, a refuge for the populations, a place of worship with its church dedicated to Sant'Andrea and an important economic centre. With wisdom, the lords of Biguglia placed themselves under the authority of Pisa. Later, the convent and the hospital of St Francis attracted the domination of the richest families. The present village still bears the traces of this rich past, it contains the foundations of the castle and is dominated by ruins that give an idea of the importance of the site.

The most famous episode, that of the power exercised by Vincentello of Istria from 1407 to 1432, was the most famous. In 1476 Vincentello's uncle, Arrigo della Rocca, was proclaimed Count of Biguglia. It should not be forgotten that the powerful characters were eager to establish their power as counts. Their objective, to rule from Biguglia. It was therefore quite natural that the first Genoese Governors chose Biguglia to lead their struggle against the feudal lords. It was there that the power of justice (the vicariate) was exercised, whose deeds allow us to discover endearing characters like Andria the Barber.

In 1489 the castle was dismantled because Genoa chose Bastia, but the long history of the fortified settlement that forms the fabric of the old village gave Biguglia. Its character has allowed it to keep its originality.

In modern times, the development of the plain and the organization of pond fisheries are renowned throughout Italy. They allowed the supply of the neighbouring town and thus its development. These activities explain the wealth of the families who in the 18th century built elegant houses in the centre of their estates. 

Information & contact

Place called Casatorra - 20620 Biguglia

GPS: 42.620874, 9.436109

Monday to Friday from 8:30am to 12pm and 1:30pm to 5pm

www.biguglia.fr

BIGUGLIA

+33 (0)4 95 58 98 58

Photo gallery
Location

Newsletter #exploremaranagolo

Receive our ideas for stays and upcoming events

loader
Biguglia

BIGUGLIA : Ancienne capitale de la Corse

De ce brillant passé, on peut aujourd’hui retrouver les traces, des morceaux de la voie romaine qui reliait Mariana au Nebbiu, les ruines de la première église Saint-André, les assises du Château, des éléments d’architecture intégrés à des bâtiments plus récents, les souvenirs d’une capitale devenue une ville moderne.

En 1407 VINCENTELLO D’ISTRIA est nommé Comte de l’île de Corse. Il fit de Biguglia sa capitale. À l’époque, Biguglia est considéré comme une place forte grâce à son port et à l’étang de Chiurlino. La commune de Biguglia dont le nom évoque l’éperon rocheux dominait la route qui reliait la plaine au Nebbiu ("aguglia" puis "guglia" en bas-latin désigne l’aiguille, la pointe) a joué un rôle éminent dans l’histoire de la Corse au Moyen Age. Siège principal de la puissante famille des BAGNAIA, installée d’abord à proximité de l’antique cité de Mariana. Leur fief s’étend de la vallée du Golo au Cap Corse, elle constitue avec son castrum, un refuge pour les populations, un lieu de culte avec son église dédiée à Sant’Andrea et un centre économique important. Avec sagesse, les seigneurs de Biguglia se sont placés sous l’autorité de Pise. Plus tard, le couvent et l’hôpital de Saint-François attirent les dominations des familles les plus riches. Le village actuel porte encore les traces de ce riche passé, il contient les assises du château et est dominé par des ruines qui permettent de se faire une idée de l’importance du site.

On a surtout retenu l’épisode le plus fameux, celui du pouvoir exercé par Vincentello d’Istria de 1407 à 1432. Vice-roi de Corse pour le compte d’Alphonse d’Aragon, il lutte contre Gênes qui réussit à le capturer puis à l’exécuter.En 1476 l’oncle de Vincentello, Arrigo della Rocca se fait proclamer Comte de Biguglia. On ne doit pas oublier que les puissants personnages étaient désireux d’asseoir leur pouvoir comtal. Leur objectif, gouverner à partir de Biguglia. C’est donc tout naturellement que les premiers Gouverneurs Génois choisirent Biguglia pour diriger leur lutte contre les féodaux. C’est là que s’exerçait le pouvoir de justice (le vicariat) dont les actes nous permettent de découvrir des personnages attachants comme Andria le Barbier.

En 1489, le château fut démantelé car Gênes choisit Bastia mais la longue histoire de l’habitat fortifié qui constitue la trame du vieux village a donné à Biguglia. Son caractère lui a permis de conserver son originalité.

A l’époque moderne, la mise en valeur de la plaine et l’organisation des pêcheries de l’étang sont réputées dans toute l’Italie. Elles ont permis le ravitaillement de la ville voisine et donc son développement. Ces activités expliquent l’aisance des familles qui au XVIIIe siècle construisent d’élégantes maisons au centre de leurs domaines. 

Informations & contact

Lieu dit Casatorra - 20620 Biguglia

GPS : 42.620874, 9.436109

Du lundi au vendredi de 8h30 à 12h et 13h30 à 17h

www.biguglia.fr

Biguglia

+33 (0)4 95 58 98 58

Galerie photo
Localisation

Newsletter #exploremaranagolo

Recevez nos idées de séjour et événements à venir