loader
BORGO

BORGO: From the mountains to the sea

The old village of Borgo is perched on a rocky promontory overlooking the plain and the sea. In good weather, on the horizon you can discover the islands of the Tuscan archipelago: the island of Elba, the Pianosa, the island of Montecristo. The high houses made of schist are covered with slate, aligned on the ridge and present a homogeneous architecture.

Relief & Territorial Boundaries

The territory of the municipality extends from the crest of the Stella schist massif in the west to the Marana l agoon range bordering the Tyrrhenian Sea in the east. Most of its surface is located in the plain, up to sea level, including part of the Biguglia pond and thelido of La Marana, separation between the pond & the sea. The other part is made up of mountainous relief including the historical village which dominates the plain at an altitude of almost 350 meters.

 

History & evolution

In Antiquity, a first settlement gradually emerged with the sedentarisation of agricultural colonies. The Romans, then the Etruscans, were fond of the eastern coast of the island, which was rich in fertile land. They developed different cultures on the left bank of the Golo. This river, which is the largest in Corsica, then flowed into the Chiurlinu pond. For several centuries, it has been flowing directly into the sea.

After the fall of the Roman Empire, looters will threaten the territory. Attacks by barbarians and pirates will incite the population to migrate to the peaks. Coastal settlements are destroyed one by one by the raids. The geography will condition the history and the village of Borgo will rise on a crest of which it occupies all the width, dominating the plain and allowing to have a view on the surroundings.

Information & contact

20290 Borgo

GPS: 42.554742, 9.424047

Monday to Thursday 08h30-12h00 & 13h30-17h00 / Friday: 08h30-12h00

Photo gallery
Location

Newsletter #exploremaranagolo

Receive our ideas for stays and upcoming events

loader
Borgo

BORGO : De la montagne à la mer

Le vieux village de Borgo est perché sur un promontoire rocheux, dominant la plaine et la mer. Par beau temps, on découvre sur l’horizon des îles de l’archipel toscan : l’île d’Elbe, la Pianosa, l’île de Montecristo. Les hautes maisons en schiste sont couvertes de lauzes, alignées sur la crête et présentent une architecture homogène.

Relief & limites territoriales

Le territoire de la commune s’étend depuis la crête du massif schisteux de Stella à l’ouest jusqu’au cordon lagunaire de la Marana bordant la mer Tyrrhénienne à l’est. La grande partie de sa superficie est située en plaine, jusqu’au niveau de la mer, comprenant une partie de l’étang de Biguglia et du lido de la Marana, séparation entre l’étang & la mer. L’autre partie est composée de relief montagneux incluant le village historique qui domine la plaine à une altitude de près de 350 mètres.

 

Histoire & évolution

A l’Antiquité, un premier foyer de peuplement voit le jour progressivement avec la sédentarisation de colonies agricoles. Les romains puis les étrusques affectionnent la côte orientale de l’île riche en terres fertiles. Ils développèrent différentes cultures sur la rive gauche du Golo. Ce fleuve, qui est le plus grand de Corse se jetait alors dans l’étang de Chiurlinu. Depuis plusieurs siècles, il se jette directement dans la mer.

Après la chute de l’Empire romain, les pillards vont menacer le territoire. Les attaques de barbares et de pirates inciteront la population à migrer vers les sommets. Les bourgades côtières sont détruites une à une par les razzias. La géographie va conditionner l’histoire et le village de Borgo s’érigera sur une crête dont il occupe toute la largeur, dominant la plaine permettant ainsi d’avoir un point de vue sur les alentours.

Informations & contact

20290 Borgo

GPS : 42.554742, 9.424047

Lundi au Jeudi 08h30-12h00 & 13h30-17h00 / Vendredi: 08h30-12h00

Galerie photo
Localisation

La newsletter #OTIMG

Recevez nos idées de séjour et événements à venir

Information Covid-19

Dans le contexte actuel, et afin de lutter contre la propagation du coronavirus, les locaux de l'Office de Tourisme Intercommunal Marana-Golo sont fermés jusqu'à nouvel ordre.

Notre équipe reste plus que jamais à votre écoute et à votre service pour répondre à toutes vos demandes depuis notre formulaire de contact.