loader
LUCCIANA

LUCCIANA: A village steeped in history

Like many villages in Corsica, Lucciana was built on the principles of a defensive architecture characterized by the grouping of houses, their terracing around narrow streets, with high facades pierced with small openings, and a layout on heights with sometimes steep or glazed approaches. The parish church was thus surrounded and protected, sometimes serving as a refuge or meeting place.

Legend has it that the village of Lucciana owes its creation to the known enmity between Mariana's founder, CAIUS MARIUS and the builder ofAléria, LUCIUS SYLLA. However, it is not difficult to imagine, for both security and economic reasons, that the Romans had invested the nearby hills.

TheAbbot GALLETTI situates in the XVth century the last reconstructions of the current village and this, often by borrowing various materials on the site of Mariana. He also cites the presence of ancient thermal baths, as well as two fountains now in ruins, one of ferruginous water originating from the stream of MORMORA, the other called " Oghju di Santa Lu cia" (eye of St. Lucia), which would have curative virtues for the eyes.

The village of Lucciana is also home to the ruins of the Convent of St. Francis. This monastery already existed at the beginning of the XVIth, but it is in 1768 that it entered in the history of Corsica during the famous battle of Borgo. In May 1769, the day after the loss of Corsican independence, MARBEUF , wounded in the shoulder during the battle, took revenge on the monks by setting fire to the convent whose burnt walls now stand in the communal cemetery.

Like her neighbour Borgo, Lucciana will live through the ups and downs of history and sometimes tragic moments. One notes however that in the XVIIth century, during the episode known as the Genoese Peace, the village was with ERNA and OLETTA endowed with a public school.

Lucciana is today a peaceful and pleasant village which in memory of Sainte Dévote is now twinned with the Principality of MONACO.

Information & contact

20290 Lucciana

GPS: 42.547134, 9.417275

Photo gallery
Location

Newsletter #exploremaranagolo

Receive our ideas for stays and upcoming events

loader
Lucciana

LUCCIANA : Un village chargé d’histoire

Comme nombre de villages de Corse, Lucciana fut ainsi édifié sur les principes d’une architecture d’ordre défensif caractérisée par le regroupement des demeures, leur mitoyenneté autour de ruelles étroites, avec des façades hautes percées d’ouvertures réduites, et une implantation sur des hauteurs aux abords parfois abrupts ou ménagés en glacis. L’église paroissiale était ainsi entourée et protégée, servant parfois de refuge ou de lieu de réunions.

La légende veut que le village de Lucciana doive sa création à l’inimitié connue entre le fondateur de Mariana, CAIUS MARIUS et le bâtisseur d’Aléria, LUCIUS SYLLA. Cependant, il n’est pas difficile d’imaginer, pour des raisons à la fois sécuritaires et économiques, que les romains avaient investi les proches collines.

L’Abbé GALLETTI situe au XVème siècle les dernières reconstructions du village actuel et ce, souvent par emprunt de matériaux divers sur le site de Mariana. Il cite également la présence de thermes anciens, ainsi que de deux fontaines aujourd’hui en ruines, l’une d’eau ferrugineuse originaire du ruisseau de MORMORA, l’autre dite « Oghju di Santa Lucia » (œil de Ste Lucie), qui aurait des vertus curatives pour les yeux.

Le village de Lucciana abrite également les ruines du couvent Saint François. Ce monastère existait déjà au début du XVIème, mais c’est en 1768 qu’il entra dans l’histoire de la Corse lors de la célèbre bataille de Borgo. Jour de la cuisante défaite essuyée par les soldats du Comte de MARBEUF face aux insurgés du Général PAOLI et les moines qui avaient pris le parti des patriotes Corses.En mai 1769, aux lendemains de la perte de l’indépendance Corse, MARBEUF, blessé à l’épaule lors de la bataille, se vengeât des moines en incendiant le couvent dont les murs calcinés se dressent aujourd’hui dans le cimetière communal.

A l’instar de Borgo son voisin, Lucciana vivra au gré des péripéties de l’histoire des moments parfois tragiques. On note cependant qu’au XVIIème siècle, durant l’épisode dit de la Paix Génoise, le village était avec ERNA et OLETTA doté d’une école publique.

Lucciana est aujourd’hui un paisible et plaisant village qui en souvenir de Sainte Dévote est désormais jumelé à la Principauté de MONACO.

Informations & contact

20290 Lucciana

GPS : 42.547134, 9.417275

Galerie photo
Localisation

La newsletter #OTIMG

Recevez nos idées de séjour et événements à venir