loader
OLMU

OLMU: A walk in the heart of the mountains

Nowadays, Olmu is a charming and peaceful village where charm and authenticity reign. In this setting, one can walk through the cobbled alleys - "ricciata" - of the village and discover its church, its fountains and take the hiking route which offers from its belvedere, a breathtaking view!

Situated on " a Punta a u Castellare ", in the immediate vicinity of the Carcherone pass, which connects the pits of Casacconi and Casinca, this pile of old stones lets the shrewd observer guess the traces of powerful walls.

Like the fort of Castellucciu, which dominates the Golu valley, the " castellu di Carcherone " dates back to the early 13th century, according to the writings of the famous chronicler "Giovanni della Grossa".

According to the book"History of Corsica", by Pierre Antonetti, and the writings of Canon Charles BARTOLI, we learn that in 1554, the Genoese Spinola set fire to the whole pits of Casacconi, with the exception of the village of Prunelli andOlmu. Unfortunately, in July 1564, the Genoese general Stefano Doria carried out cruel reprisals against Olmu and Loretu, in order to make the inhabitants pay for their active support to Sampieru Corsu.

Indeed, being with his troop in Carcarone, Sampieru was about to melt down on Vescuvatu to drive out the Genoese garrison that he knew was few in number. Some inhabitants ofOlmu informed him that Genoese reinforcements coming from Bastia had to cross Golu at the place called"lavu benedettu", downstream of the current Casamozza. Changing his plans, Sampieru took the valley road through Olmu, crossed the torrent by the very old bridge that can still be admired below Prunelli, and defeated the Genoese troop, surprised and taken by surprise. Sampieru was wounded in the battle and was taken to the village of Casabianca for treatment."

Information & contact

20290 Olmu

GPS : 42.49635, 9.40845

Monday to Friday: From 2 to 4 pm

mairieolmo(at)orange(puntu)fr

olmo.fr

+33 (0)4 95 36 24 93

Photo gallery
Location

Newsletter #exploremaranagolo

Receive our ideas for stays and upcoming events

loader
Olmu

OLMU : Une balade au cœur de la montagne

De nos jours, Olmu est un charmant et paisible village ou règne charme et authenticité. On pourra dans ce décor, arpenter les ruelles pavées - "ricciata" de la commune et découvrir son église, ses fontaines et emprunter l'itinéraire de randonnée qui offre depuis son belvédère, une vue imprenable !

Situé sur « a Punta à u Castellare », à proximité immédiate du col de Carcherone, qui relie les pièves de Casacconi et de Casinca, cet amoncellement de vieilles pierres laisse deviner à l’observateur avisé les traces de puissantes murailles.

Tout comme le fort de Castellucciu, qui domine la vallée du Golu, le « castellu di Carcherone » daterait du début du XIIIème siècle, d’après les écrits du célèbre chroniqueur « Giovanni della Grossa ».

Selon l'ouvrage "Histoire de la Corse", de Pierre Antonetti, et les écrits du Chanoine Charles BARTOLI, on apprend qu’en 1554, le génois Spinola fit incendier toute la piève de Casacconi, à l'exception du village de Prunelli et d'Olmu. Malheureusement, en juillet 1564, le général génois Stefano Doria fit exercer contre Olmu et Loretu de cruelles représailles, afin de faire payer aux habitants leur soutien actif à Sampieru Corsu.

En effet, se trouvant avec sa troupe à Carcarone, Sampieru s'apprêtait à fondre sur Vescuvatu pour en chasser la garnison génoise qu'il savait peu nombreuse. Des habitants d'Olmu l'informèrent que des renforts génois venant de Bastia devaient franchir Golu au lieu-dit "lavu benedettu", en aval de l'actuel Casamozza. Changeant ses plans, Sampieru prit le chemin de la vallée en passant par Olmu, traversa le torrent par le très vieux pont que l'on peut toujours admirer en contrebas de Prunelli, et vainquit la troupe génoise, surprise et prise à revers. Sampieru fut blessé au cours de cette bataille, et transporté au village de Casabianca pour y être soigné."

Informations & contact

20290 Olmu

GPS : 42.49635, 9.40845

Du Lundi au Vendredi : De 14 heures à 16 heures

mairieolmo(at)orange(puntu)fr

olmo.fr

+33 (0)4 95 36 24 93

Galerie photo
Localisation

La newsletter #OTIMG

Recevez nos idées de séjour et événements à venir